What I’m Curious About…

Daily writing prompt
What are you curious about?

I always get curious about the way older generations view younger ones. I recently had a disagreement with a close family member, and a common remark to many things I do is “Wow, you and the kids in your generation…” And it always amuses me because, aren’t YOU the ones raising us? I mean I’ll be the first to admit that all generations come with thier faults, but we have to stop shaming people because they simply handle situations differently. Some people might walk away, others will continue to bicker and hurl insults. I use my own approach. If I’m having a disagreement with someone, or they’re telling me something I don’t like, unless I think it’s worth my time to continue, I’ll decide to walk away from it. Plain and simple. If that’s an issue with said person, it kind of proves the immaturity on their side. Knowing when to walk away is a sign of strength because you’re not wasting your time trying to argue over who’s right or wrong. I’m always curious about generational differences. The way I see older people in my family, at least, handle problems is very disappointing. Bickering and emotional arguments without being able to critically think. It’s even made me feel like an outsider in a lot of ways because I’m not always quick to be vocal about my thoughts. This can also be true for my generation, and to a greater extent even. However, we’re always so quick to judge what seems to be differences when we’re a lot more similar than we believe.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started