Favorite Holiday…

Daily writing prompt
What is your favorite holiday? Why is it your favorite?

Personally, I’ve always enjoyed Christmas the most. Despite that being the most popular answer, I loved the spirit it always brought me as a little kid. Not so much anymore, but still joyous. I would wake up early, slightly disappointed that I didn’t stay awake the previous night to see Santa come down the chimney. I would rush upstairs and wake my very sleepy parents up. I then rushed downstairs to see about fifteen gifts underneath the tree (only-child privilege) and would refuse to open them until my parents were both there to watch. My most memorable gift was a Frozen-themed box filled with a bucket of fuse beads and cute templates. (Unrelated, but I can’t believe the movie Frozen is a decade old now, time really flies!)

Anywho, my parents would watch me open up all of my gifts and afterwards we would watch some Christmas movies together. My favorite ones being Elf (of course, a classic), Mistle Tones, and The Santa Clause 3: The Escape Clause. Every Christmas has been different, especially since my parents are no longer together. However, it’s a holiday that brings good memories that are worth holding onto. I miss that childhood innocence around the holidays. Especially knowing that even after Christmas, you still have New Years’ to look forward to. The Winter Soltice celebrations at school before Christmas breaks were the best, now that I think about it! All the parents would bring food (mainly snacks) and we would watch a movie before going home. (Again, Elf was very iconic for us, lol).

I miss those days so much. Being older is great, but that innocent feeling of believing Santa and his reindeer were real, while silly, was one of the joys of being a child. Christmas will always remain my favorite holiday for those memories and other ones to come. Maybe I’ll share similar ones when I have my own family.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started